Sweet Shoppe Designs

  #1  
Old 04-27-2009, 08:15 AM
Sharon Kay's Avatar
Sharon Kay Sharon Kay is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,250
Question CS3 AND PSE Template Question

**BEFORE** I go through my 33.5 GB of templates and do something I will regret....please tell me of ANY REASON I would not want to convert all my PSD files to TIFF!! I use PSE and CS3. Any reason at all???

Any reason I would not want to convert all my **LAYOUTS** from PSD to TIFF?

I'm hearing it will save me a ton of space...but I want to know if there is any reason I would be sorry I did this.

Yes I do keep all my finished layouts in PSD (not flattened JPG)...because I can't even count how many times I have gone back to update a layout, or change a layout to use in a different child's book, or find a spelling error.

Any reason not to do this? Thanks!
__________________
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2009, 08:18 AM
kresta's Avatar
kresta kresta is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,936
Default

No reason I can think of. I always just save in TIFF now instead of PSD.
__________________

My Blog -- Three 4 Me

Proudly creating for Zoe Pearn
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2009, 08:27 AM
4noisyboys's Avatar
4noisyboys 4noisyboys is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,174
Default

I can't think of a reason at all. I just forget to do it most of the time!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2009, 08:30 AM
sprauncey1's Avatar
sprauncey1 sprauncey1 is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bordertown in Texas
Posts: 1,948
Default

I did this about a month ago (4 years worth of LOs!) and so far I haven't found any reason. The only reason I have heard is that many many years down the road, the new program may not be able to read them. But I just don't see this happening in any amount of time I'll be worried about it. Plus if we keep our old program, we'll be able to undo it too.

But the space saved is enormous!! I don't know if you remember but I was complaining last month about my 320 gig internal HD being full, well I changed all my old LOs to TIFF (I've been doing TIFFs for the last year so it was only my OLD LOs) and OMG it saved me 45 GIGS!!!! Then when I actually went through and deleted my old RAW files (that I had formatted to jpeg and scrapped), I am now 103 GIGS free!!!

Do it!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2009, 09:46 AM
Sharon Kay's Avatar
Sharon Kay Sharon Kay is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,250
Default

Ok...guess that I what I am going to do...a lady on DST wrote a mini program to help save a little bit of time...guess I will check it out! Thanks.
__________________
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2009, 09:54 AM
kscwgirl's Avatar
kscwgirl kscwgirl is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 12,692
Send a message via Yahoo to kscwgirl
Default

just make sure the tiff is saved correctly.. if something isn't checked right in the conversion, the tiffs are actually bigger than the psd files. I can't remember the settings off the top of my head.. but if Darcy sees this she might be able to help you.
__________________
Sara
Creating for absolutely no one because I don't think I know how to scrap anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2009, 10:29 AM
Sharon Kay's Avatar
Sharon Kay Sharon Kay is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,250
Default

Ok I posted at DST requesting an action and someone wrote us one!

http://www.digishoptalk.com/boards/s...d.php?t=187455

This thread suggests using the LZW compression to save space:
http://www.digishoptalk.com/boards/s...d.php?t=186796

I haven't tried it yet...guess that should be my goal for today.
__________________
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-28-2009, 10:30 AM
Darcy Baldwin's Avatar
Darcy Baldwin Darcy Baldwin is offline
Just a Scrapper
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 16,530
Default

CONVERT!

Remember to save as a LZW/zipped file and you'll be so happy you did

I keep all my layered files in .tiff format, both designs and layouts.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2009, 10:30 AM
ditzyscrap's Avatar
ditzyscrap ditzyscrap is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,937
Default

Sharon, now that you have an action, you should do a google search about how to create a "droplet". They're SUPER easy to create (using the action) and then all you have to do is drop the droplet/action into your folder in Windows and it will automatically run the action on ALL the files in there (so you'd have to make sure all your PSD files are in a folder but there are no other types, or that would create a mess of sorts, lol).

ETA: I created one to change my PSD files into 8x8 jpg's for printing...only takes a few minutes to run it on a folder and I can just walk away instead of having to open every file and run the action.
__________________
Bree
My Gallery
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-30-2009, 01:10 PM
Sharon Kay's Avatar
Sharon Kay Sharon Kay is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ditzyscrap View Post
Sharon, now that you have an action, you should do a google search about how to create a "droplet". They're SUPER easy to create (using the action) and then all you have to do is drop the droplet/action into your folder in Windows and it will automatically run the action on ALL the files in there (so you'd have to make sure all your PSD files are in a folder but there are no other types, or that would create a mess of sorts, lol).

ETA: I created one to change my PSD files into 8x8 jpg's for printing...only takes a few minutes to run it on a folder and I can just walk away instead of having to open every file and run the action.
I've never heard of a droplet. Would this then be in lieu of running the action through Bridge in CS3? Believe it or not I have not used BRIDGE yet!! I was thinking I would open BRIDGE and point to the folder and it would do them...or will that not work? In BRIDGE do I need to open all the PSD files in order for that action to work?

I'd really like to get these done and re-backed up before I go to Disney!
__________________
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
convert, cs3, psd, pse, tiff

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All Creative Content 2007 SweetShoppeDesigns

Making your memories sweeter

Copyright 2016 Sweet Shoppe Designs The Sweetest Digital Scrapbooking Site on the Web | Site by Lilac Creative