Sweet Shoppe Designs

Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 04-28-2011, 06:10 PM
SugarBabe

profile gallery send pm
Default Can you girls recommend a sewing machine?

I want to learn to sew, I did back in 7th grade, LOL!

I did figure out how to crochet, so I'm thinking I can learn to sew. Really just basic stuff to start with, like Keira's girl scout patches, and little projects, but I'd love to learn to quilt the kids old baby clothes into a quilt to keep and maybe halloween costumes down the road.

I compared them at Joann's online and found one on sale for $99 and I'd really like to stay under $100 since I'm just starting out.
Old 04-28-2011, 06:30 PM
Jabber-Jawbreaker

profile gallery send pm

I prefer Kenmore brand over Singer or White brands... Kenmore is found at Sears.
Old 04-28-2011, 06:31 PM
SugarBabe

profile gallery send pm

thanks Heather.

The one I was looking at was Brother I think.
Old 04-28-2011, 06:35 PM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by nesser1981 View Post
I want to learn to sew, I did back in 7th grade, LOL!

I did figure out how to crochet, so I'm thinking I can learn to sew. Really just basic stuff to start with, like Keira's girl scout patches, and little projects, but I'd love to learn to quilt the kids old baby clothes into a quilt to keep and maybe halloween costumes down the road.

I compared them at Joann's online and found one on sale for $99 and I'd really like to stay under $100 since I'm just starting out.
I have a brother that retails for $100. I round it on Craig's list for $50! Woo-hoo!! It's a great basic machine with lots of quilting features.
Old 04-28-2011, 06:46 PM
SugarBabe

profile gallery send pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by kristijoy View Post