Sweet Shoppe Designs

Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-03-2011, 08:42 PM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm
Default photography question

So, everyone always says that if you take pictures in RAW you have a lot more possibilities of editing than in any other format. How do you have more options to edit a RAW photo than say just a simple jpg photo? Coz IMO photoshop gives you endless editing possibilities with a jpg photo already? How does RAW allow for even more ways to play with a photo?

Anyone know?
Old 11-03-2011, 09:07 PM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm

Okay, I am no pro but from what I can tell RAW is most helpful in correcting exposure in ways that JPG images can sometimes not be saved. For example, if you underexposed a photo, I think it is easier to fix that in RAW with less noise and it's less obvious that you had to "fix it". Plus I think it's just EASIER to fix in RAW (like, fewer steps/simpler in terms of how much work it takes to fix the image). Does that make sense? I am sure someone with more technical know-how can answer this better (and probably correct me if I'm wrong!)

siggy by the incredibly amazing Jacinda
Old 11-03-2011, 09:30 PM
Jabber-Jawbreaker

profile gallery send pm

because RAW is the full file and has every piece of information stored in that photo, so if you underexpose a photo you can fix it and not lose the detail... a .jpg is a processed photo by your camera... so your camera decides what information in the photo isn't needed anymore so that the file size is smaller... since you've lost information in the photo it becomes harder to edit because you can't get back that information... so if you underexpose a photo you will have lost some detail and you can't get it back... does that make sense... I feel like I'm rambling LOL
Old 11-03-2011, 09:35 PM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm