Sweet Shoppe Designs

Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 10-25-2011, 04:21 PM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm
Default help! lobsters ?!

hey everyone! so i belong to a local CSA that provides local farm veggies - and this week they began delivery of fresh fish and natural beef as well. i'm a decent cook - but i have NEVER prepared a live lobster before - and now i have FIVE sitting in a box in my kitchen! ackk!

does anyone know how to cook these suckers?!?! LOL! i have some water boiling now and am getting ready to toss them in ... but any other suggestions would be welcome too!

i'm off to google some recipes as well - but just in case someone has some first-hand experience

creating for:
the lilypad / sahlin studio
Old 10-25-2011, 04:24 PM
Just a Scrapper

profile gallery send pm

Stuffed Lobster - beyond yummy

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/a...ipe/index.html

But - you'd have to cook them up now - and butcher them outside of just the boiling water if you think you can do that.

Also - you can put back the meat to make other dishes with later, even if you can't do them all now.
Old 10-25-2011, 06:30 PM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm

ooh yummy darcy! thanks for the link

creating for:
Old 10-25-2011, 06:38 PM
Administrator

profile gallery send pm

I'm such a wuss, this makes me cringe....though I looooove lobster... Dana, you can just cook mine for me, mmmkay?
Old 10-25-2011, 06:59 PM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm

Wellllll, I am from Maine. Are your lobsters our kind with the large claws? Or are they the OTHER kind that have wimpy little claws?

Honestly, the best way to eat them is hot boiled straight from the pot with drawn butter (melted salted butter). That's it.