Sweet Shoppe Designs

Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-28-2012, 02:43 PM
Sweet Tooth

profile gallery send pm
Default Talk to me about Alabama (Gulf Coast)

So we are thinking of taking a summer trip and we wanted to get out of Florida but still go to the beach. I was reading a magazine and saw an ad in the back for the Gulf Coast-Alabama. I've never been there so I have zero knowledge of where to go exactly, where to stay, eat, play, etc.

If anyone lives there or has been there and can share some info that would be awesome. I'm researching online but I think personal experiences are so much better.

Thanks!

Old 02-28-2012, 02:48 PM
Jabber-Jawbreaker

profile gallery send pm

Alabama beaches are nice...not as pretty as Florida but nice. Gulf Shores is a nice little town to stay in..and Orange Beach is just a few miles down the road from there. DH proposed to me in Gulf Shores

Old 02-28-2012, 03:07 PM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm

Yes. Yes yes yes yes yes. Alabama is amazing. We go every year (and have for the past... 9 years?) We started in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach... they're nice. They comb the beaches every day, have pristine beaches, and are more affordable and less crowded than Florida.

We don't go to Gulf Shores or Orange Beach anymore. Now we stay at Dauphin Island. It's a LOT cheaper than Orange Beach. It's not as pristine (driftwood comes onto the beach, and no one goes along and clears it off or anything), and there are oil rigs off in the distance (you can see them on the horizon, but it's really not bad or gross at all- the only difference is that you can see them on the horizon, whereas at Orange Beach you just see water).