Sweet Shoppe Designs

Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 02-07-2011, 11:55 AM
Sweetie Pie

profile gallery send pm
Wink Creating Elements

Random question! I'm wanting to design some kits/graphics/etc for my personal use. (i.e. More Disney specific since you can't buy them b/c of copyright laws & some other random things that I can't find in kits.) I'm nowhere near as talented as the designers here...but would like to be able to doodle little graphics & things for myself.
My question is...what do I need? I currently use PSE 8.0.
Do I need a tablet? Illustrator?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I've googled all morning but can't find anything on this topic. How did you designers learn?? I know some of you are surely self-taught? Not everyone has a graphic design degree...right?
Old 02-07-2011, 02:39 PM
Sweetsaholic

profile gallery send pm

Hi there!

I'm not an expert on the doodly stuff by any means, but I didn't want you to think no one had read your message!

I do use a tablet, and I have illustrator (though I don't use it a lo). For your own use though, I bet you could doodle in PSE. They just wouldn't be nice vector drawings like you can do in Illustrator.

And nope, no graphic design degree. I just had a designer friend that answered questions for me, and I googled when there was something specific I wanted to know if she didn't have the answers.
Old 02-07-2011, 03:41 PM
Jabber-Jawbreaker

profile gallery send pm

I'm self taught too. Lots of the trial and error and finding tutorials here and there.

I don't do a ton of doodling, but when I do I have to use my tablet and Illustrator. I've never had success drawing in PS or PSE. Of course you could draw on paper and scan/extract.
Old 02-12-2011, 06:16 PM
Sugar Baby

profile gallery