Sweet Shoppe Designs

Old 03-02-2020, 03:23 PM
Sweet Shoppe Designer

profile gallery send pm
Default I don't know what to do.

My mom's dog, who is now my dog, is about to turn 15 years old. He can't see much any more and he has nerve damage in his spine (he's a long dog and it happens when they get older) which means he can't walk very well if at all. I have been carrying him everywhere for about two years now and he seems okay with it.

Lately I've noticed that he whimpers when he is moving in his sleep and he sleeps more and more each day. He's harder to please and can be snippy with the other dogs. But he is still eating well and his plumbing is working regularly.

Unfortunately. since he can't hold himself up, if he goes potty when I am not there, he gets it all over himself. I've put him in a diaper to help with peeing, but a diaper won't help with #2, so I am bathing him just about every day. He doesn't seem to mind it, and I don't mind it, but I wonder if it is fair to him. I know I wouldn't want to sit in my own mess every day.

So how do you know if a dog is suffering? I know a lot of people might say if they can't walk they are suffering, but having had a father who could not walk, I don't equate that with life being over. He seems content to be carried and actually "calls" me when he needs something. I have to figure out if he is hungry, thirsty or needs to go outside, but he lets me know that something is up and he needs help.

If he is still eating well and going to the bathroom, and lets me know when he needs to go, is he still having a good life? He still loves to cuddle and sleep on my lap, loves having a treat and sitting in the sun. Is that enough?

I love this dog and I don't want to put him down, but I don't want to hold on to him if he is suffering. Has anyone had experience with this? What are the signs that I should be looking for? I really don't know what to do to be fair to him.
Old 03-02-2020, 03:40 PM
SugarBabe

profile gallery send pm