Sweet Shoppe Designs

Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 11-24-2012, 11:14 AM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm
Default Photography tutorials for a complete newbie??

Oh my goodness guys, I am SO excited! DH and I were browsing through some Black Friday sale flyers the other day, and I stumbled upon a Canon Rebel T3 for a REALLY good price (about $200 less than regular price). So we bought it as a 6 month early anniversary gift, lol!

I am SO impressed with it, and have only really taken a dozen pics with it since we got it last night (DH is like a kid with a new toy, I can barely get it out of his hands, haha)... I've shot a couple in manual, a few in P, and a few in CA.

But I REALLY want to learn how to use this camera well. I want to understand what f-stops are, aperture, all that stuff. I've always had automatic cameras before, where I didn't need to know that, and I have been unimpressed with my photos for years. I want to start taking some GOOD pics, and need a good tutorial (or several) to walk me through some basics!

Thanks so much!!

Huge fan of:

Old 11-24-2012, 11:30 AM
Sweet Shoppe Designer

profile gallery send pm

get the book "understanding exposure" !! Your library may even have it

I'm sure some of the other girls will come in with some great tutorial sites but I found this is a really realy awesome book for just learning the basics - it is written very well and is easy to understand
Old 11-24-2012, 11:40 AM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm

Understanding Exposure
Photography for dummies(they even make camera specific versions)
thepioneerwoman.com/photography
pinterest has tons of tutorials as well