Sweet Shoppe Designs

Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-07-2010, 10:37 AM
Jabber-Jawbreaker

profile gallery send pm
Default Recommendations for camera lenses

I know this has probably been asked before, so bear with me. Since there are some A-Mazing photographers here, and I'm in need of your advice. I have a Canon Rebel XS and am looking to upgrade from the kit lens. Ideally, I'd like something that will give me a fantastic shallow depth of field in my portrait-type shots.

I'll eventually also be looking for a good zoom lens, but for now, I want to start with more of a portrait-type. I've heard that the 50mm f/1.8 is good. I have never used a prime lens before though, so it makes me a bit nervous. I have no idea where to even start when it comes to the zoom lens. The options out there are soooo overwhelming! My head hurts.
Old 09-07-2010, 10:40 AM
Sweet Shoppe Designer

profile gallery send pm

I love my 50mm lens, mind you I only have that and the kit lens to choose from right now!
Old 09-07-2010, 10:41 AM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm

Go for the prime! It is affordable and is a good lens to learn with. You should also get Bryan Peterson's book. http://www.amazon.com/Understanding-...1&sr=8-2-spell

The lens that stays on my camera is the Tamron 28-75 2.8. Love that lens. I also have the cheap Canon 75-300 but don't like it. I use it for sports or outdoors stuff.

My next lens will be a 35mm.

What do you want the zoom for? That might help you narrow it down.
Old 09-07-2010, 10:49 AM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm

I'm no pro photog, or even a very good one, but I love my 35mm, it's been on my camera since I got it!

I researched it for months as I knew I wouldn't be able to afford another one once I'd bought it and I've been happy with my decision!
Old 09-07-2010, 10:49 AM
Jabber-Jawbreaker

profile gallery send pm

Quote: