Sweet Shoppe Designs

Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community

Old 08-28-2013, 12:32 AM
Sweetie Pie

profile gallery send pm
Default I have already posted a bit, but let me make a formal introduction!!!

Hey There
My name is Sarah, and although I am not new to art, I am new to scrapbooking. I have been a working artist, *meaning people are silly enough to pay me for stuff* for nearly 13 years now. It started when I got married and realised that being a housewife was, when you got down to it......really boring.

So I cast about for things to do, first of all I went back to pen and ink, a medium I enjoyed very much when I was a young girl. Unfortunately I failed my art exams as I had no enthusiasm for drawing crumpled coke cans or rendering bars of chocolate with a bite taken out. On the other hand my tutor had no patience for my drawings of goblins, vampires, unicorns and dragons. So after school I didn’t pick up a pen again till I got older and needed to pass the time.

That led to teaching myself web design, until eventually I set about on digital medium with a trusty tablet and the three ring circus of my imagination as my guide. Funnily enough this took off and not only do I frequently paint digitally, I work with a variety of 3-D rendering programs, as well as for the past five years being heavily into photo manipulation...

So why scrapbooking, well I find at the grand age of 38 I now have a plethora of memories that I wish to preserve not just for me, but my family and my son. Some of these were sad memories, which I feel all the more need keeping.

My plans are to make small personal albums and books as presents using children’s board books, and also, hence why I am here, make a digital scrapbook that I can convert to PDF and have bound into a book.