Sweet Shoppe Designs


Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2012, 03:46 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default I'm in love with 'layer bounds' in my layers panel!

I must have been living under a rock, til today, I never tried the option of "layer bounds" in my layers panel - and whooaaa what a nice difference, I can seeeeee my elements much better now in the panel! Im in love ... lol



Anyone wanna share other quick tips that they love?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:18 PM
jacinda's Avatar
jacinda jacinda is offline
SugarBabe
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 18,599
Default

You're a genius! That is so cool.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:28 PM
YepBrook's Avatar
YepBrook YepBrook is offline
Sweet Shoppe Designer
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Florida, USA
Posts: 12,936
Default

Thanks for mentioning that, I've never selected that before... now I can't believe what I've been missing all this time!!!!!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:32 PM
Sherri Tierney's Avatar
Sherri Tierney Sherri Tierney is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,645
Default

I'm not seeing that at all in my layers panel. What program are you running?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:47 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherri Tierney View Post
I'm not seeing that at all in my layers panel. What program are you running?
CS6.. but it's in CS5 and CS4 too I believe.. I could open them and check... but Im ALMOST positive...

which program you on?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:56 PM
YepBrook's Avatar
YepBrook YepBrook is offline
Sweet Shoppe Designer
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Florida, USA
Posts: 12,936
Default

Here are some screenshots... not only can you see the actual close-up of the object, but you can also change the size of your layer thumbnail.





(I'm in CS6)
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:56 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

This is where ya find it...

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:57 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Oops... Sorry Brook, I was doing it at the same time! Thanks for that! :-)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2012, 04:59 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Whoa...I apologize for the POSTER size screen shot! LOL! Guess thats what I get for being on a huge screen.... eeeek!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:06 PM
YepBrook's Avatar
YepBrook YepBrook is offline
Sweet Shoppe Designer
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: South Florida, USA
Posts: 12,936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arual View Post
Oops... Sorry Brook, I was doing it at the same time! Thanks for that! :-)
great minds...
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:46 PM
Milmomma's Avatar
Milmomma Milmomma is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Middle of Nowhere, OK
Posts: 2,358
Default

Wow that's pretty neat!
__________________
Brittney
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:55 PM
Jen22's Avatar
Jen22 Jen22 is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Finally Back Home! The 'Coove, WA :D
Posts: 2,006
Default

I'm pretty sure it goes all the way down to CS2 and is in PSE 10 for sure - I can't scrap unless I can see my elements in the preview thing. It's one of the first things I figured out when I switched to Photoshop from my old, old program. It's an awesome trick!!

I have that - and I always make it so that I zoom in with the scroll wheel on my mouse. Oh and I changed my short cut keys so that my "back-up" is Ctrl+Z instead of ... I think it was Ctrl+Shift+Z. That way I can keep clicking Ctrl+Z until I get back to the step that I want. Those are the few things I can think of that I've changed. Oh I also have my history pallet thing save way more steps than what it normally saves. Like 200 or more I think. Sometimes I need to back up more than a couple steps - and the default is something small like 25 steps. That doesn't work for me - especially if I'm editing photos

All of those are in preferences (I'm pretty sure). I'm not on my main computer right now - so I can't check
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-23-2012, 05:56 PM
Tronesia's Avatar
Tronesia Tronesia is offline
SugarBabe
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 2,061
Send a message via Yahoo to Tronesia
Default

I am so slow sometimes...lol! I am over here thinking "well, that isn't changing anything...what am I missing?!?!" I really don't pay attention very well. That is neat option though...great share ladies!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:04 PM
ayaandjudah's Avatar
ayaandjudah ayaandjudah is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,474
Default

wow, this is the first time someone has posted something that I already knew, lol.

I love layers bound. It makes ALL the difference.

:-)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:18 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tronesia View Post
I am so slow sometimes...lol! I am over here thinking "well, that isn't changing anything...what am I missing?!?!" I really don't pay attention very well. That is neat option though...great share ladies!
Here is the difference... look at the thumbnails:

With LAYER BOUNDS chosen...


Without Layer Bounds chosen, instead ENTIRE DOCUMENT is chosen...
__________________

Last edited by Arual; 09-23-2012 at 06:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:18 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

And pleaseeeeee ignore my awful shadows on the layout... Im working on those, lol!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:19 PM
MamaBee's Avatar
MamaBee MamaBee is offline
SugarBabe
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 16,097
Default

cool!

For PS Element users... we have this option in at least version 7...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:45 PM
deebirks's Avatar
deebirks deebirks is offline
Sugar Cookie
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 332
Default

Wow. I had no idea. I was half-afraid it was another one of those things not available on PSE, but I'm so excited to see that I can do that!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:56 PM
krystalhartley's Avatar
krystalhartley krystalhartley is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas Suburb
Posts: 7,623
Default

Zoom with the wheel is essential. And I have one of those fancy schmancy gaming mice and program some of the things to the buttons. My step backward is bound to this little button on the side that I just tap with my thumb. It's fabulous!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jen22 View Post
I'm pretty sure it goes all the way down to CS2 and is in PSE 10 for sure - I can't scrap unless I can see my elements in the preview thing. It's one of the first things I figured out when I switched to Photoshop from my old, old program. It's an awesome trick!!

I have that - and I always make it so that I zoom in with the scroll wheel on my mouse. Oh and I changed my short cut keys so that my "back-up" is Ctrl+Z instead of ... I think it was Ctrl+Shift+Z. That way I can keep clicking Ctrl+Z until I get back to the step that I want. Those are the few things I can think of that I've changed. Oh I also have my history pallet thing save way more steps than what it normally saves. Like 200 or more I think. Sometimes I need to back up more than a couple steps - and the default is something small like 25 steps. That doesn't work for me - especially if I'm editing photos

All of those are in preferences (I'm pretty sure). I'm not on my main computer right now - so I can't check
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-23-2012, 06:59 PM
Valgal's Avatar
Valgal Valgal is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Beautiful Colorado
Posts: 7,284
Default

I stumbled across that last year, but didn't know about changing font previews till a few months ago, lol!

One thing I discovered this week quite by accident is that if you hold down the alt. key while dragging an image it automatically makes a copy of it. How did I never know that???? I was always doing a cntrl J and thought THAT was the shortcut, lol!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:11 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valgal View Post
I stumbled across that last year, but didn't know about changing font previews till a few months ago, lol!

One thing I discovered this week quite by accident is that if you hold down the alt. key while dragging an image it automatically makes a copy of it. How did I never know that???? I was always doing a cntrl J and thought THAT was the shortcut, lol!
Val, did you know that you can also do that exact thing INSIDE of your layers panel as well?

Oh how I love all the things we can do!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:11 PM
nun69's Avatar
nun69 nun69 is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 17,748
Send a message via Yahoo to nun69
Default

ummm I can't find this option in CS5...somebody help me.....!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:16 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Angie, do you know how to get the drop down when you click on the layers options? that little icon with like three lines and an arrow? Click that, then click Panel Options...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:18 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Click on that little arrow to the right, in the corner...

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:27 PM
eve11ne's Avatar
eve11ne eve11ne is offline
SugarBabe
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 5,120
Default

ooh, this is so cool, thank you for sharing it!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:31 PM
nun69's Avatar
nun69 nun69 is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 17,748
Send a message via Yahoo to nun69
Default

omg....my life just got soooooooo much easier!!!!!!!!!!!!!! that is sooooo awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-23-2012, 07:35 PM
Laura_A's Avatar
Laura_A Laura_A is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 3,063
Default

I use CS3 and just found it works!! Woohoo!!!! This makes things SO much easier.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:04 PM
Nikki Epperson's Avatar
Nikki Epperson Nikki Epperson is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bixby, OK
Posts: 13,248
Send a message via Yahoo to Nikki Epperson
Default

Thank you! I had no idea that was possible!
__________________


Happily Creating For:

Krystal Hartley ♥ Libby Pritchett ♥ Meghan Mullens ♥ Melissa Bennett


Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:23 PM
ayaandjudah's Avatar
ayaandjudah ayaandjudah is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,474
Default

WAIT?!?!?!?

What font preview???????
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:35 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayaandjudah View Post
WAIT?!?!?!?

What font preview???????
Alisa, see in our screen shots where it shows the font preview selections? You can choose them to be smaller or larger.. or not at all.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:36 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Oh wait.. I misread your question... FONT preview? whatcha mean?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:38 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Alisa, are you talking about this?

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:46 PM
Sherri Tierney's Avatar
Sherri Tierney Sherri Tierney is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,645
Default

Awesome! I'm on CS5. I'll look for this. I don't think I was looking in the right place.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:50 PM
Sherri Tierney's Avatar
Sherri Tierney Sherri Tierney is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krystalhartley View Post
Zoom with the wheel is essential. And I have one of those fancy schmancy gaming mice and program some of the things to the buttons. My step backward is bound to this little button on the side that I just tap with my thumb. It's fabulous!
I have a fancy gaming mouse too... I really should program some of the buttons. Honestly, I've never messed with the buttons. I like my mouse for the 3 speeds and the fact that it is weighted (makes ALL the difference to me!)
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-23-2012, 08:54 PM
Sherri Tierney's Avatar
Sherri Tierney Sherri Tierney is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,645
Default

Yay! Got it to work. That saves my eyes a little. I am working to set my PSCS5 back up to my specifications after reformatting and reinstalling. It is such a pain!
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 09-23-2012, 09:38 PM
jacinda's Avatar
jacinda jacinda is offline
SugarBabe
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 18,599
Default

I am learning so much from these threads.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 09-23-2012, 11:55 PM
farrijc's Avatar
farrijc farrijc is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,484
Default

Laura, you rock! I love learning little things like this like I would never in a million years discover on my own!
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 09-24-2012, 12:24 AM
Kristi8004's Avatar
Kristi8004 Kristi8004 is offline
Sweet Tooth
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 452
Default

awesome tips ladies thanks for sharing!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 09-24-2012, 12:50 AM
elseepe's Avatar
elseepe elseepe is offline
Such a Sweetie
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 140
Default

Another fantastic tip. Thank you. I have to go try this one out.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-24-2012, 11:00 AM
k23m's Avatar
k23m k23m is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,249
Default

awesome! I just learned something on monday morning!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 09-24-2012, 11:14 AM
dailydwellin's Avatar
dailydwellin dailydwellin is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: May 2011
Location: El Paso
Posts: 563
Default

I'm in PSE 9 and just tried it and OH MY WORD what a difference this makes!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 09-24-2012, 11:19 AM
dana's Avatar
dana dana is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,025
Default

awesome - i'm super excited about this too
__________________



creating for:
the lilypad / sahlin studio
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 09-24-2012, 03:34 PM
*Celeste*'s Avatar
*Celeste* *Celeste* is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 3,915
Default

Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 09-24-2012, 04:41 PM
Arual's Avatar
Arual Arual is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: High Desert of So Cal
Posts: 606
Default

Glad I mentioned it and that it can help some of you. I thought for sure you all were gonna say you already knew about it, and that I was the only one living under the rock :-)

I love learning new stuff for photoshop!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 09-24-2012, 08:31 PM
mrshobbes's Avatar
mrshobbes mrshobbes is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Somewhere within 7,107 islands
Posts: 5,370
Default

OMG but you ladies just blew my mind today. YAY for bigger layer previews!

...wait, I can change the size of the font previews? *mind blows again*
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 09-24-2012, 08:41 PM
nun69's Avatar
nun69 nun69 is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 17,748
Send a message via Yahoo to nun69
Default

I can't find the change font preview in CS5, help a sistah out
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 09-24-2012, 08:45 PM
rach3975's Avatar
rach3975 rach3975 is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 9,952
Default

When I switched from another company's program to PS, that was one of the first things I learned. Not being able to see the individual elements drove me CRAZY. I can't figure out why PS doesn't default to the close up view. It's also nice not to have to label the layers.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 09-24-2012, 08:49 PM
rach3975's Avatar
rach3975 rach3975 is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 9,952
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nun69 View Post
I can't find the change font preview in CS5, help a sistah out
In CS5, do you have a Type drop down on the top where the File and Edit menus are? If so, look under there. I know it was harder to find in CS3 than it is in CS6, but I don't know what version they changed it in. If you don't see it there, try Edit/Preferences. I think that's where it was in CS3.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:05 PM
nun69's Avatar
nun69 nun69 is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 17,748
Send a message via Yahoo to nun69
Default

Rachel you ar ethe BEST.....ok who has some more easy tips for me to make my life better!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 09-24-2012, 09:17 PM
Starlight-Princess Starlight-Princess is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 759
Default

Woot thanks for all the tips ladies! x
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All Creative Content 2007 SweetShoppeDesigns

Making your memories sweeter

Copyright 2016 Sweet Shoppe Designs The Sweetest Digital Scrapbooking Site on the Web | Site by Lilac Creative