Sweet Shoppe Designs

Old 04-21-2021, 05:10 AM
Jabber-Jawbreaker

profile gallery send pm
Default Show Me Your Favorite Clusters

I'm trying to improve my ability to make my own clusters, but I need some inspiration.
Bonus if you add some of your thought process from when you're making clusters.
Old 04-21-2021, 06:25 AM
SugarBabe

profile gallery send pm

I use 3's as my starting point for the flowers. I like overlapping and layering too.

I think this page is the basics of clustering. My left corner cluster is 3 flowers and 4 leaves. From there you adjust layers and amounts like the other two clusters. I used to find pages done with the same kits I had bought and then copy clusters element for element to get the feel of what went into other's clusters. Then I'd copy a cluster-y page with a totally different kit to mimic the look with what I had. Anyway, hope this helps.

Old 04-21-2021, 07:57 AM
SugarBabe

profile gallery send pm

I'm no clustering expert, but I have been working to improve them over the last few years and I definitely see improvement! I usually start with three groupings on a page (sometimes one-I like and odd number for some reason!). I usually pick my favorite 3-4 flowers from the kit. More than that gets overwhelming. I like the clusters to coordinate but not be exactly the same. I just vary the size and layer order. Then I add foliage or two. Sometimes I'll add other elements to the cluster (tags, charms, wordstrips, etc.) depending on what's in the kit. I also don't think the clusters have to be big to be effective.

Three cluster example:

One big cluster example:

One with other non-floral elements mixed in:
Old 04-21-2021, 09:21 AM
Sweet Talker

profile gallery send pm