Sweet Shoppe Designs

Go Back   Sweet Shoppe Community > Candy Coated Conversation > A Sweet Little Community
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 03-10-2016, 04:08 PM
Sugar Rush

profile gallery send pm
Default Question about Organizing Fonts...

So - I really love fonts I'm realizing even more so than I probably should - or maybe just more than I realized before.

So now I'm starting to get a bit of a collection - and love using them on layouts and such - but I'm a bit of a newbie at organizing them in Photoshop - I know I could google tutorials, but you ladies seem to have some awesome tips so I thought I would ask if anyone has a favorite way to organize their favorite fonts in Photoshop here first.
Old 03-10-2016, 04:37 PM
Sugar Rush

profile gallery send pm

If they're in a family, I will create a folder with the family name or create folders by their style such as "script" "grunge" and so forth. I know there are others who I'm sure do wayyyy more than what I do, but it's easy for me that way.
Old 03-10-2016, 08:22 PM
SugarBabe

profile gallery send pm

I'm old fashioned. I create a Word document and list the names of my favourite fonts (using those fonts), print it and have it sitting near my computer so its real easy to look at when I'm trying to decide what font to use. I have four different sheets at the moment and I've sorted my fonts by type/how I would use them:

Journalling - Print
Journalling - Script
Plain text
Typewriter fonts
Titles - bold
Titles (or headings) - Script
Headings/word strips
Other

I have to update/reprint it periodically as I'm always finding new fonts but I find it so much easier than scrolling through the list of fonts on my computer (which is all my fonts, not just my favourites).

This reminds me actually, I need to add a new category for 'Calligraphy' fonts since I downloaded all those wonderful fonts that Jacinda and others alerted me to the other day in that post about new fonts!!
Old 03-10-2016, 09:51 PM