Sweet Shoppe Designs

Old 05-18-2020, 06:12 AM
SugarBabe

profile gallery send pm
Question Instant pot...which size ?? (and more questions)

Hey everyone...

I have a questioon for the instant pot owners out there I have finally convinced DH to buy an instant pot (yay!!!) we want to eat better, more healthy and not order so much take out so we looked up recipes and we feel that the IP is the way to go. Now...we're seeing different sizes. Which one to go for ??? There is only the 3 of us in our household but with birthdays we love to cook for about 15 people so do we go for the 80 Duo or the 60 Duo. I also wonder if you can make recipes that are for the 60 (which I think most on the internet are) in the 80 ??

Oh, and which accessories are a must have ???
Old 05-18-2020, 09:43 AM
Jabber-Jawbreaker

profile gallery send pm

I'm pretty new to having and using one but I have a family of 5 and my 3 girls are 5, 3 and 1 so not eating full size meals yet but we have leftover for another meal that way.
I have the 6qt. Sometimes I feel I could have gotten the 8 qt instead but it was a gift from my husband so I didn't do the research.

I don't have any accessories besides the trivet that came with.
Old 05-18-2020, 10:04 AM
SugarBabe

profile gallery send pm

I have a 6 quart for our family of 5. I think it's big enough, but sometimes I wish I had 2. I use it for my rice cooker too.

The only accessories I have are a rubber trivet, I like it for eggs and I bought a 7 inch spring form pan to make a cheesecake. It turn out fantastic!
Old 05-18-2020, 10:32 AM
Jabber-Jawbreaker

profile gallery send pm

We've had our IP since 2016, so you can't even get it any more. But we have the Lux 6-in-1 : 6 Quart Instant Pot for our family of 5 (you know their ages--they are older and eat!)

As far as must have recipes, I recommend the Instant Pot Community on Facebook as they have a vast knowledge of recipes and individuals who can help you convert a stove/oven recipe in to an IP recipe!