Sweet Shoppe Designs

  #1  
Old 09-07-2011, 07:32 PM
Melissa Bennett's Avatar
Melissa Bennett Melissa Bennett is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington
Posts: 11,872
Default I think I'm gonna be sick...

my computer will not let me open up Photoshop or Illustrator. It is super, super, SUPER slow. I ran my virus software and nothing and it was just updated today. I have tried system restore and it won't let me do it and I cannot install any new antivirus programs. Anyone have any advice for me? I really need my PC back!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2011, 07:34 PM
Traci Reed's Avatar
Traci Reed Traci Reed is offline
Administrator
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21,313
Default

Get a mac!

I mean..uh...

I would back up quick right now and then see how full your drives are and such...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2011, 07:37 PM
Melissa Bennett's Avatar
Melissa Bennett Melissa Bennett is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington
Posts: 11,872
Default

I have a macbook, but prefer to design on my desktop cause I am so used to it and much bigger monitor.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2011, 07:40 PM
jenn7's Avatar
jenn7 jenn7 is offline
Sugar Rush
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: AZ
Posts: 924
Default

I'm sure you already did this but can you do just a reboot? This happens to me once in a while and a reboot seems to clear things out.
__________________
~Jenn~
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2011, 07:46 PM
Traci Reed's Avatar
Traci Reed Traci Reed is offline
Administrator
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21,313
Default

yeah I couldn't design on a little laptop either :/ hope you get it fixed!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2011, 07:51 PM
luckyme's Avatar
luckyme luckyme is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,323
Default

I almost don't want to write this because I'm so embarrased... Once I let my recycle bin get enormous and my whole system starting acting really slow and clunky and I couldn't get PS to open... I emptied the bin, rebooted and all was well again.

I hope your computer feels better soon!!
__________________
Pinterest | Goodreads |Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2011, 08:02 PM
crystalbella77's Avatar
crystalbella77 crystalbella77 is offline
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7,976
Default

ooooh no!!! That is such a pain!!! I don't have any advice. I do the normal delete, defrag and reboot type of stuff usually. Sometimes when I need a Windows update it gets like that too. GL!!!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-07-2011, 08:37 PM
JenTapler's Avatar
JenTapler JenTapler is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maui, Hawaii
Posts: 890
Default

Hey Melissa, I was just posting this on Libby's thread. I have to first say that I'm a total computer idiot, so I might not really know what I'm talking about AT ALL. But my computer started acting really slow and everything started freezing up after I ran the last Windows update on Monday. I'm SUPER annoyed. I tried running a System Restore this afternoon and it's not letting me. I don't know what to do!! But did you recently run a Windows Update too?? I'm trying to figure out if that's what my problem is or what? My computer is really slow, I keep having to reboot because stuff just keeps not responding, and the most annoying thing for me is that Firefox won't work AT ALL. The update that I ran was something called Service Pack 1 for Windows 7??
__________________
Jen


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2011, 08:40 PM
Melissa Bennett's Avatar
Melissa Bennett Melissa Bennett is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington
Posts: 11,872
Default

I turned off updates awhile back cause it always rebooted at the most inconvenient times.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2011, 08:44 PM
lauren grier's Avatar
lauren grier lauren grier is offline
you're like stars
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mars.
Posts: 22,153
Default

whatever you installed/updated (your virus software) uninstall- just uninstall the whole thing - that's step one. i had something installed for antivirus and it totally crapped out my system & ps/illustrator. they just refused to run with it. i don't know what you're running but that's def a possibility.
__________________
~~La~~
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-07-2011, 09:23 PM
rach3975's Avatar
rach3975 rach3975 is online now
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 9,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lauren grier View Post
whatever you installed/updated (your virus software) uninstall- just uninstall the whole thing - that's step one. i had something installed for antivirus and it totally crapped out my system & ps/illustrator. they just refused to run with it. i don't know what you're running but that's def a possibility.
Oh no! I hope you get it working soon. I'd start with what La recommended. IME if a problem begins all of a sudden right after any kind of update, it probably has something to do with the update.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-07-2011, 10:18 PM
Melissa Bennett's Avatar
Melissa Bennett Melissa Bennett is offline
Sweetsaholic
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington
Posts: 11,872
Default

Cleaned out my recycle bin, transferred files to my EHD and then I rebooted my computer (I was terrified to do that) and wouldn't you know it, everything is working peachy keen now!! Thank you ladies!! Now I can start designing for this week.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-08-2011, 07:04 AM
sprauncey1's Avatar
sprauncey1 sprauncey1 is offline
Sweet Talker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bordertown in Texas
Posts: 1,948
Default

Also find out where photoshop/illustrator keeps the temp files and delete them. It can be GIGS of stuff in there. You probably just had the HD so full there was no scratch disk for the programs to use. Glad you are back running! Scary stuff when it does that!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-08-2011, 09:03 PM
rach3975's Avatar
rach3975 rach3975 is online now
Jabber-Jawbreaker
 
profile gallery send pm
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 9,924
Default

Yeah! I'm glad it was an easy fix and you're up and running again.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All Creative Content 2007 SweetShoppeDesigns

Making your memories sweeter

Copyright 2016 Sweet Shoppe Designs The Sweetest Digital Scrapbooking Site on the Web | Site by Lilac Creative